///
you're reading...
Life, Music, Theme Tuesday

Theme Tuesdays #8

Hey there,

How are you? I hope you’re doing fine.

I’m doing okay. Well… yeah, okay. Surprisingly. My life has kind of been in shambles for the last while. Shambles of the unforeseen nature. I know, I sound dramatic, but seriously… nothing, NOTHING, has been going my way. I don’t want to go into the details because I’m not sure I’m comfortable sharing some things just yet (surprise?!) and plus it’s probably boring/depressing/sad for YOU to read about. I came home one day, held in tears, then bawled my eyes out. And then sang at the top of my lungs to many an embarrassing sad song. It was kind of like when Marnie from Girls sang “Stronger” by Kanye West except I wasn’t good, I had tears falling down my face, wasn’t unaware of the shame, and basically was nothing like her, except for the fact that I was singing.

So let’s just say that Brandi is not in a good place right now. Some of it was very out of my hands and some of it was very in my hands. But please DON’T say, “It could be worse.” Honestly, it’s not my friends’ faults buuuuut every time I hear those words, I can picture the universe saying, “Challenge accepted. Brandi this one is all you.” And then something takes a huge shit on my life.

I feel like a combination of Lena Dunham’s character on Girls and Holden Caulfield from The Catcher in the Rye. Except I don’t live in New York. Yeah, that’s how bad it is.

And here I am. On a Tuesday, the day after April 1st (a historically shitty day in my life). So I guess… I owe you a blog post.

Today’s theme is… TENDER TUESDAY!!!!

I told you, I’m kind of in a “tender” mood. My feelings are getting the best of me. So I’mma let it all out. I wish I could write you a poem but it’d probably go like:

Vodka is my best friend

My cat is ignoring me

I feel like this is the end

So someone call Mr. Feeny

That was horrible. Honestly. I never liked writing poetry. Well whatever, you got your poetry. Also check that Boy Meets World reference! Wasn’t that show just the best? But for real, I’m going to share with you one of my favourite songs by one of my favourite bands because it’s how I feel and shit.

“Empty” by Metric

There was no way out, the only way out was to give in
There was no way out, the only way out was to give in
How I love to give in

Here no one sleeps, one lays up while the other lies down
Where no one sleeps, one lays up while the other lies down
Ask the line on your face what the line on your hand meant
We couldn’t see what was coming

Shake your head it’s empty
Shake your hips move your feet
Shake your head it’s empty
Shake your hips move your feet

I’m so glad that I’m an island now

Sickness was fixing me some
Coughed out my heart in the last stall
Now that the damage is done
I never miss it at all

The cool thing about Metric is that their songs are very universal. This song means something to me but it can also mean something very different to you. I think of myself when I read the lyrics to this song. In so many ways. But that’s the whole point of this song- any song. The person listening to it. It is all a reflection of that person, their interpretation.

Either way, emptiness is something that everyone in this world has felt. You can’t deny that you’ve never felt empty. I’m not talking about a fucking empty stomach, I mean your whole world/life/brain/heart has felt empty. It’s happened to you. And if it hasn’t, message me. MENTOR ME. I want your fucking life.

On a positive note, if you haven’t heard of Metric before, please do check them out. They are a Canadian independent rock band. I’ve followed them for about seven years now and they have yet to disappoint me. I’ve seen them live three times and will continue to go to their concerts because they rock hard. This song, “Empty”, is one of my all-time favourite songs. The intro kills me. I really want to learn it on guitar (granted I pick up the guitar again). But then it hits a wicked heavy part and you just want to rock out. Please listen to it. It’s not fun to read lyrics without the music anyway.

Metric8

Tuesdays suck… until now! 

b

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Twitter Updates

INSTAGRAM

despite midterms, presentations, and assignments, I managed to sneak in a concert. shout out to @arcadefire for adding a little light to my week. 🙌 this is an old tree, this is a beautiful tree 🍂 on Wednesdays we wear pink 💕... #meangirls #yesterdaywasoctoberthird volunteering on the red carpet today #eiff #yeg this building has my ❤️ even though the A 141 air conditioning is unnecessary campus creepiness this morning 🌫

Enter your email address to follow and receive notifications of new posts by email.

