///
you're reading...
Travel

Three Weeks in Europe

This is a totally cavalier post. I am just, you know, checking in from Dublin after exploring the rest of Europe for over two weeks. I’m not bragging at all, I promise.

I mean, in a normal three weeks at home, I get to do all of the following things:

  • Go to a sex show in Amsterdam
  • Bike through the flat, green countryside of Edam
  • Eat escargot
  • Walk along the Eiffel Tower as it illuminates
  • Stroll past some of the most beautifully designed buildings in the world
  • Sleep in a jail
  • Take a gondola to the top of a mountain in the Swiss Alps
  • Read on the beach in the French Riviera
  • Dine in the richest country in the world
  • Down cheap (but delicious) sangria in Barcelona
  • See an amazing flamenco show
  • Marvel at Gaudi’s architecture
  • Discover Irish pubs in the rain
  • Tan

So. Fucking. Normal.

Not.

This trip has been so memorable and has been the recharge that I desperately needed. Life had been so ho-hum (yes, I was born in the 1920s) and I wasn’t challenging myself. I realize the less I put myself in daunting situations (new country, new language, new people, new problems, new everything), the less I grow and the more I waiver on who Brandi really is. On this trip, not only did I have the above list of amazing experiences, but I also met a lot of individuals who have helped me solidify my views on life and myself. It is so interesting to learn how others approach situations based on their life experiences, where they come from, and who they are. That is why I came on this trip. That is why travelling is the ultimate education.

I don’t want to leave any more spoilers with you because I will most likely post a few anecdotes from this tour once I return home on Sunday. Instead, I will leave you with a quote from one of my favourite authors and the ultimate icon of Dublin (no, not Guinness).

“Think you’re escaping and run into yourself. Longest way round is the shortest way home.”

– James Joyce, Ulysses


b

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Twitter Updates

INSTAGRAM

hiking and biking and the mountains are just what I needed #canada #ab #kananaskis #mountains our view for the week #camping #notdyinginthewoods #ab #kananaskis sweet, sweet macarons ❤️ #duchessbakeshop #yeg 🎉 season confusion #spring #April #wtf #canada in a galaxy far, far away . . . #retweet @nasa #hotdamnspace #blackhole #centaurus #beauty #ngc4696

Enter your email address to follow and receive notifications of new posts by email.

