///
you're reading...
Humour, Life, Travel

I’m back

From where, you ask?

Nowhere (but I did go to Hawaii for a hot second). And also everywhere.

IMG_1956

I’ve been working my worky job.

I’ve been carving out time in my oddly busy schedule for my friends.

I’ve been aiming to be more healthy without actually making any life changes.

I’ve been scheming for bachelorette parties.

I’ve been adorning myself with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle temporary tattoos (with the help of my very accepting, weird and wonderful boyfriend).

I’ve also been obsessed with podcasts. Podcasts are amazing. I had to describe what a podcast was to my boss because he was always asking me what I was listening to under my big white headphones in my office. This made me feel very smart and important and cool and hip. I love podcasts. One of my friends first turned me onto Serial, which is told in way that is gripping and thought-provoking. After binge-listening to both seasons of Serial, I was craving more. A quick scan of iTunes’ Podcast library blew my mind. Podcasts have allowed me to take my love of listening and learning to a whole new level. I can practice my conversational French, listen to reviews of films, learn crazy science, and I can relive my favourite scenes from history. Yes, I am a nerd. Why is this news to you?

As I’m listening to another podcast, Millennial, I asked myself, why don’t I make a podcast? I always have things to say, sometimes too much to say. It seems like a fun, new thing to try out. I’m always looking for fun, new things to try out. It’s creative and I like to be creative. And then that voice in my head shot back, “Girrrrrrrrrrrrrrl, did you forget about yo blog?” (that voice in my head can be so real with me) and I thought, “Shiiiiiiit girl, I did.”

So this blog post isn’t going to end up with me advertising my new podcast, “A Girl and Her Adventures with French Fries,” which is definitely what it would be named. No, this blog post is going to end up with me making a promise to myself and to you, reader, that I am getting back into this whole blog thing. If you haven’t noticed, my last post is from last summer. And before that it was the previous fall. Dude, that’s 2014. It feels like lightyears ago. Even then, I was writing because something interesting had happened to me, I had gone to a music festival, I had explored Europe for three weeks. I was not writing because I was pushing myself to think more critically and creatively. Plus, in all honesty, I hate the sound of my voice and I have no idea how to record a podcast so I think my stroke of genius was destined for failure from the beginning. With this blog, I can still say those too many things that I have to say, I can still have fun, I can still be creative, and I can renew my love of writing.

So I’m back. Not from anywhere in particular. Life, maybe. And I’m back to write for you and for me.

Until next time, here is me, my shit-eating grin, and all 50 TMNT temporary tattoos on my left arm. I should get a sleeve, shouldn’t I?

IMG_2875

xoxo,

b

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

INSTAGRAM

sweet, sweet macarons ❤️ #duchessbakeshop #yeg 🎉 season confusion #spring #April #wtf #canada in a galaxy far, far away . . . #retweet @nasa #hotdamnspace #blackhole #centaurus #beauty #ngc4696 this view is alright #vegas today is listen to new Drake and clean the house Sunday. also, my cat thinks I'm insane #morelife

Enter your email address to follow and receive notifications of new posts by email.

